IMMIGRATION
NUMBERS
Opens in a new tab
UNITED KINGDOM · OFFICIAL DATA

Non-citizen crime trends

Recorded justice outcomes over the years.

Foreign nationals

Violence against the person

England & Wales · Prison population on 30 June

Data 2015–2026 · Source retrieved 17 Sept 2026

Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.

UK Ministry of Justice

Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026

Source period: 2015-06-302026-06-30

Release schedule: Annual; check for updates weekly.

Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.

How updates are checked →
1,863.3
Average prison populationpeople · foreign nationals2015–2026

Average of the selected annual snapshots. Summing prison populations would repeatedly count some of the same people.

Foreign nationals over time

20152026

Prison snapshots count people in custody, not crimes committed during each year.

Definitions & limitations

England and Wales prisons only; excludes Scotland and Northern Ireland. Stocks on 30 June, not offences committed or annual convictions. Nationality does not identify birthplace or immigration status. Sentence length, remand, enforcement, transfers and release policies affect prison stocks. Unknown nationality remains separate. Non-criminal custody is explicitly separated. Some offence groups may include immigration offences; the source does not isolate those offences. Offence coverage and recording can change.

These data identify citizenship or nationality. They do not separately identify foreign-born people or naturalized citizens. Counts are not population rates, and changes can reflect reporting, enforcement or justice-system practices.

Yearly data

Foreign nationals: Violence against the person, England & Wales. people.
PeriodForeign nationals · peopleSource notes
30 June 2026 · prison snapshot2,088
30 June 2025 · prison snapshot2,083
30 June 2024 · prison snapshot2,022
30 June 2023 · prison snapshot1,983
30 June 2022 · prison snapshot1,956
30 June 2021 · prison snapshot1,813
30 June 2020 · prison snapshot1,782
30 June 2019 · prison snapshot1,747
30 June 2018 · prison snapshot1,721
30 June 2017 · prison snapshot1,706
30 June 2016 · prison snapshot1,743
30 June 2015 · prison snapshot1,716

Foreign-born and naturalized-citizen series are not separately reported in these datasets. Naturalized citizens are included in citizen counts and are not added to this graph. Data coverage →