IMMIGRATION
NUMBERS
Opens in a new tab
SOURCE LIBRARY

Every number starts here

Original publications, preserved files, and an inspectable record of what we used.

19 primary government sources

6949 observations in the reviewed release · Retrieved 2026-09-17

Source metadata JSON

Specialized source collections

Emergency Medicaid spending · CBO and CMS source notes →

Ceuta border event · dated official statements and reported updates →

Primary government

ACS 1-year B05002 · state nativity, 2019–2024

U.S. Census Bureau · Published date not stated

Coverage
2019-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; new releases require source and coverage review
Notes
Annual survey estimates. Foreign-born means not a U.S. citizen at birth and includes naturalized citizens. Standard 2020 ACS 1-year estimates are unavailable. Foreign-born count margins of error are 90%; correlation does not propagate sampling uncertainty. Census population controls changed after 2020 and with revised migration controls in 2024, affecting comparisons. Exact state FIPS and B05002 lines 1 and 13 are used; no national allocation.
Preserved file SHA-256
dbbcbf35e3cb2e7a03514b948c4869425e36516c4881c50827ef1d87bd40829a
Primary government

Crime in the United States 2020 · Table 4 state estimates

Federal Bureau of Investigation · Published date not stated

Coverage
2019-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; new releases require source and coverage review
Notes
FBI Table 4 state estimates of offenses known to law enforcement; source-published rates use the same table’s state population and one-decimal rounding. Uses the UCR hierarchy rule and revised rape definition. Not all crime, offender counts or immigrant crime rates. Prior-year revisions are retained. Florida has limited reporting in recent releases; estimates may be particularly sensitive to reporting coverage. 2021 state crime estimates have not been imported. The selected 2019 and 2022–2024 comparisons have only four paired years, with no interpolation.
Preserved file SHA-256
04d139ffc2c026d012ca4ff7a77d85639db818551f4124b28274ac44cb2ab80b
Primary government

Crime in the United States 2023 · Table 4 state estimates

Federal Bureau of Investigation · Published date not stated

Coverage
2022-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; new releases require source and coverage review
Notes
FBI Table 4 state estimates of offenses known to law enforcement; source-published rates use the same table’s state population and one-decimal rounding. Uses the UCR hierarchy rule and revised rape definition. Not all crime, offender counts or immigrant crime rates. Prior-year revisions are retained. Florida has limited reporting in recent releases; estimates may be particularly sensitive to reporting coverage. 2021 state crime estimates have not been imported. The selected 2019 and 2022–2024 comparisons have only four paired years, with no interpolation.
Preserved file SHA-256
d31a6cbb8a18559f7d3c15204bd1281f72c36143201052f603eb2943cdbad5fa
Primary government

Crime in the United States 2024 · Table 4 state estimates

Federal Bureau of Investigation · Published date not stated

Coverage
2023-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; new releases require source and coverage review
Notes
FBI Table 4 state estimates of offenses known to law enforcement; source-published rates use the same table’s state population and one-decimal rounding. Uses the UCR hierarchy rule and revised rape definition. Not all crime, offender counts or immigrant crime rates. Prior-year revisions are retained. Florida has limited reporting in recent releases; estimates may be particularly sensitive to reporting coverage. 2021 state crime estimates have not been imported. The selected 2019 and 2022–2024 comparisons have only four paired years, with no interpolation.
Preserved file SHA-256
9425171b91977f731b117ea07955fea07a71dfd3fc20c1fc19accff20ddd30a4
Primary government

Crime in the United States 2025 · Table 4 state estimates

Federal Bureau of Investigation · Published date not stated

Coverage
2024-01-01 to 2025-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; new releases require source and coverage review
Notes
FBI Table 4 state estimates of offenses known to law enforcement; source-published rates use the same table’s state population and one-decimal rounding. Uses the UCR hierarchy rule and revised rape definition. Not all crime, offender counts or immigrant crime rates. Prior-year revisions are retained. Florida has limited reporting in recent releases; estimates may be particularly sensitive to reporting coverage. 2021 state crime estimates have not been imported. The selected 2019 and 2022–2024 comparisons have only four paired years, with no interpolation.
Preserved file SHA-256
c0d951d11ec17c40c95482fe4917680defa8481a73d07faaeb5a299577a05ca8
Primary government

ACS 1-year B05002 · national nativity, 2014–2024

U.S. Census Bureau · Published date not stated

Coverage
2014-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Release availability checked weekly; pinned imports require review
Notes
Annual sample estimates, not a point-in-time census or immigration flows. Foreign-born means not a U.S. citizen at birth and includes naturalized citizens. Standard 2020 1-year estimates were not released. Published 90% margins of error retained for foreign-born counts; no invented uncertainty for derived shares or correlation. Population controls changed after the 2020 census, and revised migration controls particularly affect 2024; comparisons require caution. No substitution of experimental 2020 or overlapping five-year estimates.
Preserved file SHA-256
1b3e54d5e8dcddd6d194223ae13621c289caaf4f043166ab863e8d44d85a8570
Primary government

Crime in the United States 2025 · Table 1

Federal Bureau of Investigation · Published date not stated

Coverage
2014-01-01 to 2025-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Release availability checked weekly; pinned imports require review
Notes
National estimates of offenses known to law enforcement; not all crime or offender counts. Uses the UCR hierarchy rule. Source-published rates and July 1 population denominators are retained, not recalculated with ACS totals. Revised rape definition applies throughout 2014–2025. FBI Table 1 footnote 4 explicitly marks 2021 estimates as not nationally representative and not comparable: retained with an unreliable flag and excluded from correlation. Prior-year estimates may be revised.
Preserved file SHA-256
b153a739153788977ccd58df755235ba43e573d584ffff138be22b436932eacc
Primary government

The Foreign-Born Population in the United States: 2022

U.S. Census Bureau · Published 2024-04-09

Coverage
1960-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-16
Update frequency
Annual
Notes
Figures 1 and 5; Tables 1 and 2. Counts rounded as published. Tables exclude people born at sea. ACS estimates have sampling and nonsampling error. American Samoa nativity classification changed before the 2018 ACS.
Preserved file SHA-256
d1a868b7ca76587e9acc51dfec676b279cd2348628d34cb0d7a35551af499ab0
Primary government

Characteristics of H-1B Specialty Occupation Workers, FY 2024

USCIS · Published 2025-04-29

Coverage
2019-10-01 to 2024-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-16
Update frequency
Annual
Notes
Appendix D Tables 1a, 1b, 7; section 2.7. USCIS CLAIMS 3 and ELIS accessed November 2024. Petitions are not unique workers. Approvals and filings are different fiscal-year cohorts; do not divide them for an approval rate. Compensation is reported compensation, not observed earnings.
Preserved file SHA-256
4437b8b33f6c8f7413b639e8afaf7da78fcba33e76f50b9ecfde8cf6dc655612
Primary government

U.S. Lawful Permanent Residents: 2023

DHS OHSS · Published 2024-09

Coverage
2020-10-01 to 2023-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-16
Update frequency
Annual
Notes
Counts rounded by OHSS. Includes new arrivals and adjustments of status; not equivalent to visas issued overseas or net migration.
Preserved file SHA-256
cf67452515e156d21225a1f71eda5a30175d841e0e2909f1d2adc0224536f394
Primary government

Annual Statistical Report, FY 2023

USCIS · Published date not stated

Coverage
2021-10-01 to 2023-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-16
Update frequency
Annual
Notes
Naturalizations and affirmative asylum receipts, pp. 7 and 16. Figures rounded by USCIS. Affirmative applications exclude defensive asylum in immigration court. Denials are not evidence of fraud. Publication date not stated in reviewed report.
Preserved file SHA-256
f43b4c4dc55a6aa1c6945a5433a86ac919348a33179f724badc3a9ed56f7edd0
Primary government

Southwest Land Border Encounters, FY 2021–2024

U.S. Customs and Border Protection · Published 2024-10

Coverage
2020-10-01 to 2024-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-16
Update frequency
Monthly
Notes
Southwest land border only. Includes USBP and OFO, Title 8 and historically applicable Title 42 events. Encounters are not unique people. Sum distinct source rows once; country and demographic aggregates must not be added to national totals. Archived FY 2021–2024 release, not the newest CBP release.
Preserved file SHA-256
ef9a0628140253b15689b245a603091040b267d0fdb9111d5f4c64c9a362112b
Primary government

ACS 1-year estimates · B05002 (2023–2024) and B05006 (2024)

U.S. Census Bureau · Published 2025-09-11

Coverage
2023-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; release availability checked weekly
Notes
2023 and 2024 ACS 1-year estimates, all population components, national and 50 states plus DC. Sampling error: published margins of error are 90% confidence margins. Negative sentinel values are missing, including controlled total-population MOEs. Derived shares have no invented MOE. B05006 excludes people born at sea, so its total can differ from B05002. Older observations on this site come from ACSBR-019 with rounded counts and different scope; do not use them as an exact baseline for this release.
Preserved file SHA-256
03a2481bdbc4cceb9b4daeeda30c448487aa4cb94c8d20195fdb5b4f99436e9a
Primary government

FY2025 Labor Condition Application disclosure (Q1–Q4 files)

U.S. Department of Labor · Published date not stated

Coverage
2024-10-01 to 2025-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Quarterly files; latest determination per case retained across all four quarters
Notes
LCAs are employer filings, not USCIS petitions, visas or unique workers. Certified excludes certified-withdrawn cases. Requested positions may include continued employment and repeated positions. Employers are grouped by exact case-normalized legal name plus FEIN; subsidiaries and alternate spellings are not merged. FEINs, contact names, emails, addresses and case records are not exposed. Worksite figures describe the main disclosed worksite only, not all worksites. Median wage uses the offered lower rate for full-time certified filings explicitly paid per year, unweighted by positions; it is not an average salary or actual earnings. Other pay periods are excluded, not annualised. Counts cover unique case numbers with determinations during FY2025, regardless of filing date. When a case appears in multiple quarterly files, the latest decision date is retained (later quarter breaks ties), so repeated or subsequently withdrawn records are counted once.
Preserved file SHA-256
99ba2481df8176a952dd142b79b38f0f110960a28c57cac12ac2a17f046a8cdb
Primary government

2023 Sourcebook · Table 9: citizenship by type of crime

U.S. Sentencing Commission · Published date not stated

Coverage
2022-10-01 to 2023-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; check for updates weekly
Notes
Federal felony and Class A misdemeanor sentencing events, not all U.S. crime or necessarily unique people. Fiscal year October–September. Table 9 excludes 325 of 64,124 cases with unknown citizenship. Citizenship does not identify foreign-born or unauthorized status. Each case has one primary offence. Immigration offences are kept separate. Enforcement priorities and federal jurisdiction shape the caseload.
Preserved file SHA-256
4b1e2e0bd96c4956570848d47077496d993c668aba32ac7afc24715d5c8d85d4
Primary government

2024 Sourcebook · Table 9: citizenship by type of crime

U.S. Sentencing Commission · Published date not stated

Coverage
2023-10-01 to 2024-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; check for updates weekly
Notes
Federal felony and Class A misdemeanor sentencing events, not all U.S. crime or necessarily unique people. Fiscal year October–September. Table 9 excludes 336 of 61,678 cases with unknown citizenship. Citizenship does not identify foreign-born or unauthorized status. Each case has one primary offence. Immigration offences are kept separate. Enforcement priorities and federal jurisdiction shape the caseload.
Preserved file SHA-256
31043cd76a0e0533e30727ee7749581b161068f5a657b2730f958cc23b38f66a
Primary government

2025 Sourcebook · Table 9: citizenship by type of crime

U.S. Sentencing Commission · Published date not stated

Coverage
2024-10-01 to 2025-09-30
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Annual; check for updates weekly
Notes
Federal felony and Class A misdemeanor sentencing events, not all U.S. crime or necessarily unique people. Fiscal year October–September. Table 9 excludes 403 of 66,662 cases with unknown citizenship. Citizenship does not identify foreign-born or unauthorized status. Each case has one primary offence. Immigration offences are kept separate. Enforcement priorities and federal jurisdiction shape the caseload.
Preserved file SHA-256
c3c9cda10f93f070f0969c43e4263f3a4bffcbf9902d9efe5cfad240738323bc
Primary government

Texas criminal illegal noncitizen data · Secure Communities, period-limited charges and convictions

Texas Department of Public Safety · Published date not stated

Coverage
2011-06-01 to 2026-07-31
Retrieved / release updated
2026-09-17
Update frequency
Monthly
Notes
Texas state offences associated with arrests from 1 June 2011 through 2026-07-31. DHS identified this group as illegally present through Secure Communities. Counts are charges and resulting convictions, not unique people or an annual crime rate. People without a prior DHS fingerprint encounter can be missed. Excludes federal charges and the separately reported group identified later in prison. No matched lawful-resident or U.S.-born denominator is supplied. A conviction may be recorded after the arrest period, and the source can be revised.
Preserved file SHA-256
b80e0fc7e19f03c37329e89293f69991ac2485f28d0b5a609baca11fbe13a12e