Non-UK-born share of UK population
Estimated share of UK usual residents born outside the UK, using numerator and denominator for the same 30 June date.
Calculated
Non-UK-born share of UK population
United Kingdom · Mid-2022 to Mid-2024
Data 2022–2024 · Source retrieved 16 Sept 2026
Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.
Published 21 May 2026 · Retrieved 16 Sept 2026
Source period: 2012-01-01–2025-12-31
Release schedule: Semiannual.
Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.
How updates are checked →View data table · 3 observations
| Period | Geography | Group | Share | 95% uncertainty interval |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mid-2022 | United Kingdom | All | 16.9% | Not reported |
| Mid-2023 | United Kingdom | All | 18.1% | Not reported |
| Mid-2024 | United Kingdom | All | 18.9% | Not reported |
What this measures
All usual residents of the United Kingdom
Calculation
Non-UK-born population (May 2026 Table 9) ÷ UK resident population (September 2025 Table 1) × 100, matched on 30 June date. Mid-2024: 13,115,000 ÷ 69,281,437 × 100 = 18.930%, displayed as 18.9%.
Limitations & comparability
Calculated by this site, not a separately published ONS percentage. The numerator is provisional official statistics in development, rounded to 1,000, and uses nationality as a proxy for migration by birthplace. The denominator is the September 2025 population release. Both cover the whole UK on the same date, but their publication vintages and estimation methods differ. No combined uncertainty interval is available. Birthplace does not establish citizenship or legal status.
2022–2024 only. Do not substitute England and Wales census totals for the UK denominator. US foreign-born classification is based on citizenship at birth; UK classification is based on country of birth.
Long-term international migration, May 2026 release: Tables 1, 2 and 9
Original source ↗ · Retrieved 2026-09-16UK population estimates 1838–2024: Table 1
Original source ↗ · Retrieved 2026-09-17Data 2022–2024 · Source retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.
Published 21 May 2026 · Retrieved 16 Sept 2026
Source period: 2012-01-01–2025-12-31
Release schedule: Semiannual.
Published 26 Sept 2025 · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2022-06-30–2024-06-30
Release schedule: Annual.
Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.
How updates are checked →