Homicide offences · territorial forces
Homicide offences · territorial forces; England and Wales. Sum specified offence codes for 43 forces over four quarters ending June, including source corrections.
Reported
Homicide offences · territorial forces
England and Wales · Year ending June 2014 to Year ending June 2025
Data 2014–2025 · Source retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.
Published 23 Jul 2026 · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2013-07-01–2025-06-30
Release schedule: Release availability checked weekly; pinned imports require review.
Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.
How updates are checked →View data table · 12 observations
| Period | Geography | Group | Value | 95% uncertainty interval |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year ending June 2014 | England and Wales | All | 525 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2015 | England and Wales | All | 567 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2016 | England and Wales | All | 683 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2017 | England and Wales | All | 640 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2018 | England and Wales | All | 700 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2019 | England and Wales | All | 656 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2020 | England and Wales | All | 693 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2021 | England and Wales | All | 596 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2022 | England and Wales | All | 657 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2023 | England and Wales | All | 578 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2024 | England and Wales | All | 546 | Not reported |
| Year ending June 2025 | England and Wales | All | 507 | Not reported |
What this measures
England and Wales; all citizenship and birthplace groups.
Calculation
Sum specified offence codes for 43 forces over four quarters ending June, including source corrections.
Limitations & comparability
Calculated totals for the 43 territorial police forces in England and Wales, excluding British Transport Police throughout. Not the UK total or the ONS headline including BTP. Four non-overlapping quarters form each year ending June. Negative quarterly corrections are retained when summing, not changed to zero. Homicide sums codes 1, 4.1, 4.10 and 4.2; robbery 34A and 34B; shoplifting 46. Recorded-year counts can include historic cases; recording, reporting and revisions affect trends. Rates calculated here use the matching ONS June-end population, not a source-published crime rate. No offender nativity or citizenship information is present.
Use the archived source vintage and stated reference period. Do not mix national and England/Wales observations.
Police-recorded crime by force and quarter · July 2026 release
Original source ↗ · Retrieved 2026-09-17Data 2014–2025 · Source retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.
Published 23 Jul 2026 · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2013-07-01–2025-06-30
Release schedule: Release availability checked weekly; pinned imports require review.
Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.
How updates are checked →