Non-citizen crime trends
Recorded justice outcomes over the years.
Public safety offences
Italy · adult prison institutions · Prison population by offence · DAP
Data 2019–2025 · Source retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2019-12-31–2019-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2020-12-31–2020-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2021-12-31–2021-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2022-12-31–2022-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2023-12-31–2023-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2024-12-31–2024-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Published Not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Source period: 2025-12-31–2025-12-31
Release schedule: Annual; reviewed before publication.
Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.
How updates are checked →Average of the selected annual snapshots. Summing prison populations would repeatedly count some of the same people.
Foreign nationals over time
2019–2025These are prison population snapshots, not the number of crimes committed each year.
Definitions & limitations
Adult prisoners present on 31 December, including remand and sentenced prisoners. A prisoner charged with or convicted of multiple offences appears in each applicable category. Do not sum offence categories or annual prison snapshots to calculate crimes or unique prisoners. Broad categories follow Italian law; immigration-law offences are identified separately. Categories overlap and must not be added together. Nationality does not identify birthplace, naturalization or immigration status.
These data identify citizenship or nationality. They do not separately identify foreign-born people or naturalized citizens. Counts are not population rates, and changes can reflect reporting, enforcement or justice-system practices.
| Period | Foreign nationals · people | Source notes |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 · prison snapshot | 327 | — |
| 31 December 2024 · prison snapshot | 293 | — |
| 31 December 2023 · prison snapshot | 236 | — |
| 31 December 2022 · prison snapshot | 209 | — |
| 31 December 2021 · prison snapshot | 213 | — |
| 31 December 2020 · prison snapshot | 185 | — |
| 31 December 2019 · prison snapshot | 177 | — |
Foreign-born and naturalized-citizen series are not separately reported in these datasets. Naturalized citizens are included in citizen counts and are not added to this graph. Data coverage →