IMMIGRATION
NUMBERS
Opens in a new tab
IRELAND · OFFICIAL DATA

Non-citizen crime trends

Recorded justice outcomes over the years.

This dataset reports all offences together; an offence-by-nationality breakdown is not available here. Ireland’s published prison tables list nationality and offence separately. Source coverage ↗

Foreign citizens

All reported offences

Ireland · Prison population

Data 2014–2024 · Source retrieved 17 Sept 2026

Retrieval confirms when the source was collected, not that the underlying figures describe today.

Eurostat

Published 29 Apr 2026 · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026

Source period: 2014-01-012024-12-31

Release schedule: Annual; check for updates weekly.

Next release: No confirmed next publication date is recorded here.

How updates are checked →
Not reported
Average prison populationpeople · foreign citizens2014–2024

Period average unavailable: 9 of 11 years reported. Missing years are not counted as zero.

Foreign citizens over time

20142024

These are prison population snapshots, not the number of crimes committed each year.

Missing or withheld years remain gaps. They are not treated as zero or joined across.

Definitions & limitations

All offences covered by the national source, including immigration offences where recorded. These are citizenship categories. They cannot identify immigrants or unauthorized residents. National definitions differ; do not rank countries by these counts.

These data identify citizenship or nationality. They do not separately identify foreign-born people or naturalized citizens. Counts are not population rates, and changes can reflect reporting, enforcement or justice-system practices.

Yearly data

Foreign citizens: All reported offences, Ireland. people.
PeriodForeign citizens · peopleSource notes
2024 · prison snapshot847
2023 · prison snapshot738
2022 · prison snapshot651
2021 · prison snapshot575
2020 · prison snapshot592
2019 · prison snapshot615
2018 · prison snapshot520
2017 · prison snapshotNot reportedNot reported
2016 · prison snapshotNot reportedNot reported
2015 · prison snapshot342
2014 · prison snapshot371

Foreign-born and naturalized-citizen series are not separately reported in these datasets. Naturalized citizens are included in citizen counts and are not added to this graph. Data coverage →